Screening of LANDFALL and discussion with filmmaker Cecilia Aldarondo

landfall aldarondo poster

Watch LANDFALL, a prismatic portrait of collective trauma and resistance in Puerto Rico, and join a discussion with the filmmaker

Film Streaming: April 26th (9AM) – April 28rd (7PM)
Discussion: April 28th | 7-9PM

The Department of Film and Media studies welcomes you to a discussion of the film LANDFALL with the filmmaker Cecilia Aldarondo. The film will be available to watch after Monday, April 26 at 9:00 am. Please RSVP using the Register button. Both the screening link and Zoom link will be sent to you on Monday morning, April 26th.

If you have any questions, contact Michael Gitlin at

Read More

Quentin Chiappetta: Music & Moving Images

Quentin event poster

Thurs. Apr. 29th | 7-9PM | RSVP

Quentin is an award-winning, classically trained composer and sound designer with years of experience scoring for every type of media, from television and film, to theater and VR. He has scored dozens of feature films and documentaries, many screening in Sundance, Cannes and Berlin. Quentin is a sought-after collaborator for ground-breaking video installations, including Christian Marclay’s The Clock, winning the 2012 Venice Biennale. Quentin will share his creative process, using his work as examples.

The Zoom link info will be displayed after you sign up and emailed to you.

Questions? Contact:

Journalism student Kalli Sringas awarded Pulitzer Reporting Fellowship

Kalli Sringas

The Pulitzer Center has selected Hunter College senior Kalli Sringas for its 2021 Student Reporting Fellowship.

Sringas plans to use the $3,000 grant to travel to Greece to report on an ancient seagrass that may be able to solve modern day environmental problems. 

The underwater grass, called Posidonia Oceanica, can live for more than 100,000 years and is one of the oldest living organisms on Earth. Recent studies show that it can filter polluting chemicals, oxygenate the sea water and even remove plastics materials floating in the ocean. Sringas will be interviewing scientists who are working on replanting and replenishing Posidonia in the Mediterranean Sea, where it is rapidly disappearing due to higher water temperatures and pollution. 

Read More